Check your email for a link to verify and set your password. Resend email

Transformation Concerto: for oboe & orchestra

10 members needed
2 Flutes (II. dbl. Picc.), 2 B-flat Clarinets, 2 Bassoons, 2 F Horns, 1 B-flat Trumpet, 3 Perc., Harp, Strings
A new work to be composed by Tony Manfredonia
Difficulty: 4 · Medium
Length: 18 minutes
Releases on Jan. 6th 2022
Must be funded by Oct. 6th 2021
$400 / ensemble

Help ensure this piece is created…

10 members needed


Not ready to join?  Follow this project
You are following this project.  Stop following

This project will include…

PDF score
9-month premiere window
Score guarantee


*** PREVIEW and LISTEN to Movement I *** Full Instrumentation: Solo Oboe 2 Flutes 2 B-flat Clarinets 2 Bassoons 2 F Horns 1 B-flat Trumpet 3 Percussion (Cymbals, Triangle, Glockenspiel, Xylophone, Marimba, Vibraphone) Harp Strings Transformation Concerto: for oboe & orchestra is a piece composed for and dedicated to Joshua Lauriteg, principal oboist of the Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra. ‚ÄčThis concerto is inspired by the idea of transformation: knowing where you once were, accepting the truth, and culminating into where you were always meant to be. One movement is currently composed, this consortium will bring the other two to life! Feel free to listen to the NotePerformer Preview audio, as well as peruse the score at the link above. Participation in the consortium includes the following: * One set of orchestra / full ensemble performance materials, ready for a 2022/2023 performance! * One set of materials for a piano reduction version * Exclusive rights to performing the piece for 9 months (and beyond, especially in response to the COVID-19 pandemic). * A free Skype-in (or, if nearby, in-person) session with the orchestra * A massive shoutout on my newsletter and social media platforms, to promote you and your organization * Your name and your ensemble listed in the score and on my website * Monthly updates Right now, the asking buy-in cost is $400 per ensemble, or $100 per individual artist. Also, I am including a "pay what you can" option, in response to the uncertainties of the COVID-19 pandemic. *** Please contact me if you're buying in as an individual artist or would like to take the "pay what you can" model. The purchasing process is a bit if different than the listed asking price through Consortio. *** I hope hope you enjoy what you've heard of the piece, and I look forward to working with you soon. Thank you for your support!

About Tony Manfredonia

Through the Tunnels and Back
On the Threshold of Spring
A Tale of Separation
I am a composer and orchestrator for concerts and multimedia living in Petoskey, MI with my wife. I aim to provide a multi-layered and sensory experience through expressive, colorful orchestration and warm melodies. My music adds new perspectives to stories, environments, and everything in between through massive orchestral productions, as well as intimate atmospheres. With performances and readings from renowned ensembles such as Apollo Chamber Players, the University of Cambridge Concert Band, The National Video Game Orchestra of Wales, and the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra, I'm grateful to have had my music played across the world. All the while, I live the life of a video game composer. I'm continually advocating for the bridge between "video game music" and "concert music." One example is my 'Suite from Kharon's Crypt: for symphony orchestra,' demonstrating the power of video game music and how it can appeal to audience members both young and old. My most recent, completed soundtracks are that for "Kharon's Crypt" and "The Ambassador: Fractured Timelines". Currently, I am working on the music for "Call of Saregnar".
Matthew Salvaggio
Feb 15, 2020
I am a professional conductor and have known Tony and his work for over a year. I am continually impressed by his creative output - whether writing for winds, voices or scoring a video game, he is extremely effective in conveying an emotional message through his music. My community band is currently working on his piece "On the Threshold of Spring," and the ensemble members have enjoyed revealing the beauty Tony has created. I believe very strongly in Tony's creativity as a composer and Jonathan Thompson's artistry, and I am happy to support them to bring this oboe concerto to life.